Who’ll Stop the Rain …in Assen

The first portion of Assen superbike qualifying is behind us. But, the rain is upon us. Although starting in dry conditions, qualifying soon turned into a wet one. All the riders starting their runs on slicks had to pit in for a makeover. That, however, yielded some interesting results. The current pole position holder is Sylvain Guintoli, second is this year’s front row subscriber Tom Sykes, and the third is Leon Camier on a Suzuki. It seems that Suzuki likes rain this year.
On the other hand, liking the rain Max Biaggi certainly is not. His result after the first session is good for the fifth row on the starting grid – something he isn’t so used to. Saturdays’ qualification shouldn’t be much more different because the rain is still washing the sins of Assen.

Assen – SUPERBIKE – Qualifying 1
1. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’37.600
2. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’37.630
3. Leon Camier (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’38.468
4. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’38.665
5. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’38.873
6. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’39.062
7. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’39.125
8. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’39.127
9. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’39.286
10. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’39.362
11. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’39.485
12. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’39.605
13. John Hopkins (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’39.625
14. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’39.770
15. Brett McCormick (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’39.915
16. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’40.124
17. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’40.231
18. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1’40.859
19. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’41.161
20. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’41.693
21. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’41.768
22. Mark Aitchison (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1’43.144
23. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1’50.808

Join the Discussion